We celebrate our rich history as a testimony to the advancement of the kingdom of God. Our past is a platform to continue launching us into the future.
1907-1914 Charles Holt and T.J. Middlebrooks began sharing with others their experience of the baptism in the Holy Spirit. These believers began conducting worship services in rented facilities.
1918 A church was officially formed and called “The Church of God.” It was the first organized Pentecostal church in the Atlanta area. The church began meeting in a tent.
1921 After several moves to accommodate the growing numbers, property was purchased on Sixth Street near Royal. It took the name “Sixth Street Church of God.” The facility held about 300 people and had a grand total of two Sunday school rooms.
1940 In the fall the congregation built and relocated to a new facility on Hemphill Avenue near the Georgia Tech campus and was renamed the “Hemphill Avenue Church of God.” This was done under leadership of Rev. H.L. Whittington.
1960 Dr. Paul Walker assumed the pastorate with his wife, Carmelita.
1967 The church moved to its present location at Mount Paran Road where growth has been a testimony to God’s power and providence. The congregation has grown from 700 to 9,500 members at this location.
1985 The church purchased an older church facility with 65 acres of property in Cobb County. The church renovated the property and built additional buildings to build Mount Paran North.
1991 Dr. David Cooper became the Associate Pastor of the Central congregation, along with his wife Barbie. The Safe House Urban inner city outreach also began this same year.
1996 Dr. David Cooper was appointed as Senior Pastor. Satellite congregations became autonomous as well. Dr. Paul Walker became General Overseer of the Church of God International.
2001-2007 The Let Us Rise Up and Build development campaign was launched, reconstructing our campus in three phases over a six-year period. The congregation modeled great faith and commitment to undertake the challenge and to continue to grow the church during the process. This campaign was completed and dedicated to the Lord on May 20, 2007.